BOOK REVIEW: Palmetto Poison by C. Hope Clark

I think C. Hope Clark gets better and better each time she publishes.  I won’t dwell on plotlines, because I want to note that there is more attention to the character and personality of the folks that populate this novel.  I didn’t even remember that Slade had a sister, but now I feel that I know her pretty well.  I learned more about the dynamics of her family and relationships in this novel that I had before.  Not all of it is positive (i.e. the depiction of her mother’s meddling), but isn’t that the way real families are? There is also enough action and adventure in this book to keep us reading until late in the night. Wayne is becoming more real to me too, and I am beginning to understand Slade’s doggedness when she is working her cases. Clark also chose a slick way to round out the character of Pamela, Wayne’s ex-wife and then effectively get rid of her too.  Well done. I can’t wait for the next novel!

Leave a Reply

